Article 176 of the Constitution of Kenya, 2010 establishes the County Assembly which shall consist of Members elected by the registered voters of the wards; each ward constituting a single Member constituency, on the same day as a general election of Members of Parliament, being the second Tuesday in August, in every fifth year.

A brief history of our county.


Tharaka Nithi County Assembly consists of twenty (20) Members, who include fifteen (15) Ward Representatives, each elected by registered voters of the wards. Five (5) Members are nominated by political parties according to their proportional representation in the County Assembly to represent special interests including persons with disabilities, minorities, women & gender and the youth. In Tharaka Nithi, there are two (2) dominant parties through which the five (5) Members were nominated.


Tharaka-Nithi County is one of the forty-seven (47) counties in Kenya located in the former Eastern Province. It’s a home to the Chuka, Muthambi, Mwimbi and Tharaka people of the larger Ameru (Amiiru) community. The County has an area of 2609 km2 and has a population of 393,177. The headquarters of the County is at Kathwana, a site selected for its centrality through consensus by delegates being an intersection of three constituencies; Maara, Tharaka and Chuka/Igamba-ng’ombe.


The major economic activities include tea and coffee planting, subsistence crop farming, subsistence dairy farming and keeping of other livestock such as goats and sheep.

00251622 46e2b98288bad525ea036dab6fe93937 arc614x376 w614 us1
Close Search Window