A County Assembly consists of members elected by registered voters of their respective wards within the County and special seat members all nominated by political parties  pursuant to Article 177 (1) of the Constitution.

The legislative authority of a County is vested in, and exercised by, it’s County Assembly pursuant to Article 185 (1), (2) of the Constitution and may make laws that are necessary for the effective performance of the functions and exercise of the powers of the county government under the Fourth Schedule of the Constitution.

A County Assembly, while respecting the principle of the separation of powers, may exercise oversight role over the County Executive Committee and any other County Executive organ(s) pursuant to Article 185 (3) of the Constitution. The Assembly may receive and approve plans and policies for the management and exploitation of the County’s resources as well as for the development and management of its infrastructure  and institutions pursuant to Section (4) of the same Article.

The County Assembly of Tharaka Nithi is mandated to undertake the following roles:

  1. Vetting and approval of nominees for appointment to County public offices as may be provided for in the County Government Act or any other law
  2. Performing roles set out under Article 185 of the Constitution
  3. Approving the budget and expenditure of the County government in accordance with Article 207 of the Constitution, and the legislation contemplated in Article 220(2) of the Constitution, guided by Articles 201 and 203 of the Constitution
  4. Approving the borrowing by the County government in accordance with Article 212 of the Constitution
  5. Approving County Development Planning
  6. Performing such other role as may be set out under the Constitution or legislation.

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window